Ben Aspinall

Director

Specialist Areas

  • Outsourced Business Services
  • Business Advisory
  • Financial Markets
  • International
  • UK Market Entry Businesses
  • Technology Industries
  • High-Growth Companies

Qualifications

  • BSc (Hons)
  • CIMA

Memberships

  • CIMA
  • CGMA

A bit about me

Hello, I’m Ben. I joined the firm in 2010 as a trainee. Although now I’m working across most of our business specialisms, my particular focus is on UK market entry and technology clients, as well as working with financial services clients from pre-authorisation through to ongoing post-authorisation compliance and reporting. I work closely with Emma, our Practice Manager and Head of HR, and our Managing Partner, Gerry, on the people side of our business, and sit on the UK200 People and Development taskforce, working with like-minded firms to continually improve our recruitment, training and development strategies.

I work with a lot of overseas-owned businesses, so much of what I do is designed to make entering the UK as smooth as possible, ensuring expanding businesses have thought of everything before taking the plunge, and then working with them as much or as little as needed. With more established UK businesses, I do what I can to understand their mid to long term goals and be available to chat through opportunities and challenges as they present themselves.

I’m particularly interested in high-growth companies and technology businesses. There’s so much opportunity for both and the breadth of work means there’s always something happening.

When asked what it is I enjoy about my role and working at Ecovis, it has to be people, the culture, and the broad range of clients and assignments. I might have my head down working on a client project one day, be flitting between team members on a variety of tasks the next, and work on a few different business development opportunities the day after. There may also be a drink after work with colleagues or clients somewhere in there! Our client base isn’t just varied across sector but in the size and scope of assignments we undertake for them, whether they’re a one-man band or a large multi-national. I really enjoy getting to know, and work with, our clients.

Personally speaking

What are your favourite hobbies?

Rugby Tots with my eldest. It’s all the exercise I get and about on my skill level.

If you could choose an alternative career, what would it be?

Food critic. I’d give too many 5 star reviews and be morbidly obese, but happy as a clam.

What is your favourite meal?

The next one.