Ajyah Ashar


Specialist Areas

  • FinTech
  • Audit & Assurance
  • Business Advisory


  • BSc (Hons) Accounting & Finance
  • MSc Financial Technology



A bit about me

Hello, I’m Ajyah. I have achieved an undergraduate degree in Accounting and Finance and a postgraduate degree in Financial Technology. What I enjoy most about Ecovis is the work environment. Everyone is approachable and happy to help which makes growing as an individual in a role more exciting and easier.

I love investigations and research that is why I like audit. My interest was developed when I took part in hacking for the Ministry of Defence programme, where we were consultants for a certain branch of the military. We were given a problem which we had to find a solution for through interviews, reading material and then creating a solution report as well as a presentation.

Personally speaking

  • What are your favourite hobbies?

My favourite hobbies are; reading books, drawing and watching movies.

  • If you could choose an alternative career what would it be?

My alternative career choice would be to work as a professor in a university.

  • A luxury item I’d take on a desert island

I would take a cruise ship!

  • My favourite meal

My favourite foods are Turkish, Arabic and Italian food.

  • My first job

The first job I had was working as a student representative.

  • Favourite music

I really like Turkish, Arabic and Korean music.

  • What’s the most exciting thing on your bucket list?

I really want to see the Northern Lights!

  • If you could have dinner with anyone, who would it be?

I would have dinner with my parents.

  • If you could have a superpower, what would it be and why?

Teleportation, so I can travel the world easily whenever I want!

  • What inspires you?

My parents inspire me.

  • What one piece of advice would you give your 10-year-old self?

Be strong and it will all work out.

  • What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?

Have faith and trust the process.

  • Who is your favourite Disney her or heroine? Would you trade places with them?

Merida, as I would love to learn archery.

  • What sport would you compete in if you were in the Olympics?

I would compete in swimming.

  • As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

As a child, I really wanted to be a vet when I grew up.

  • Are you a cat person or a dog person?

I’m a cat person. I have two cats, one called Eddie and the other is called Alex.

  • What languages do you know how to speak?

I can speak my native language which is Urdu and English. I also know a little bit of Arabic and French.